## Chandrabhanu Gupta

A great freedom fighter, a sharp politician, and former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Chandrabhanu Gupta, who had pleaded as an advocate on behalf of the revolutionaries in the Kakori Train Action Case, established the Motilal Memorial Society in 1935 and the Bharat Seva Sansthan in 1964 in the state capital, Lucknow. Both institutions continue to play a leading role in promoting education, healthcare, and culture for all sections of society in Lucknow and other districts.

Chandrabhanu Gupta was born on July 14, 1902 in Bijauli village of Aligarh District. He received his early education in Lakhimpur district and pursued higher education (MA in Political Science and LLB) from Lucknow University.

On 14 April, 1930, the City Magistrate of Lucknow sentenced Mohan Lal Saxena and Chandrabhanu Gupta under Section 117 of the Criminal Procedure Code for leading the movement to break the salt law in Lucknow. They were sentenced to one and a half years of imprisonment. However, due to the personal interest taken by the President of the Awadh Bar Association, George Jackson, an Englishman who argued on the application on behalf of the association, their sentence was reduced to six months. After being imprisoned in Lucknow Jail for some time, Chandrabhanu Gupta was transferred to Ghazipur Jail, where he was eventually released.

Chandrabhanu Gupta was elected as a member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly in the years 1937, 1946, 1952, 1961, 1962, 1967, and 1969. He also served as a member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council from 1960 to 1961 and held various Cabinet Ministerial posts in the Uttar Pradesh Government between 1947 and 1959. He became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the first time on 7 December 1960 and served in the role four times until 1970. He passed away on 11 March 1980.

Chandrabhanu Gupta played a prominent role in India's freedom struggle. He was a man of strong character, loyal, an efficient administrator, and a visionary leader. He valued new ideas and technology more than material wealth.

The Department of Posts is proud to release a commemorative postage stamp on Chandrabhanu Gupta, who dedicated his entire life to the service of the country, the state, and society. This stamp stands as a tribute to a great patriot, distinguished politician, and committed social worker. From his active participation in the freedom struggle to his visionary leadership as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Chandrabhanu Gupta's contributions reflect a life devoted to public welfare, integrity, and progressive ideals.

#### Credits:

Stamp/FDC/Brochure/ : Ms Priya Pandey Cancellation Cachet Text : Referenced from content provided by Proponent

Site para

विवरणिका BROCHURE

चन्द्रभानु गुप्त

**CHANDRABHANU GUPTA** 

भारतीय डाक

India Post

डाक विभाग

**Department of Posts** 

### चन्द्रभानु गुप्त

उत्तर प्रदेश के पूर्व मुख्यमंत्री चन्द्रभानु गुप्त महान स्वतंत्रता सेनानी और प्रखर राजनीतिज्ञ थे। वे 'काकोरी ट्रेन एक्शन केस' में क्रांतिकारियों की ओर से वकील के रूप में पैरवी करने के लिए भी जाने जाते हैं। चन्द्रभानु गुप्त ने वर्ष 1935 में उत्तर प्रदेश की राजधानी लखनऊ में 'मोतीलाल मेमोरियल सोसाइटी' और 1964 में 'भारत सेवा संस्थान' की स्थापना की। ये दोनों संस्थाएं आज भी लखनऊ और अन्य जिलों में समाज के सभी वर्गों के लिए शिक्षा एवं स्वास्थ्य के क्षेत्र में सेवाएं प्रदान करने के साथ–साथ समाज के सांस्कृतिक उत्थान में अग्रणी भूमिका निभा रही हैं।

चन्द्रभानु गुप्त का जन्म 14 जुलाई, 1902 को अलीगढ़ जिले के बिजौली ग्राम में हुआ था। चन्द्रभानु गुप्त की प्रारंभिक शिक्षा लखीमपुर जिले में हुई। तत्पश्चात, उन्होंने लखनऊ विश्वविद्यालय से राजनीति विज्ञान में एम.ए. और एल.एल.बी. की डिग्री हासिल की।

14 अप्रैल, 1930 को लखनऊ के सिटी मजिस्ट्रेट ने चन्द्रभानु गुप्त और मोहन लाल सक्सेना को लखनऊ में नमक कानून के विरुद्ध आंदोलन का नेतृत्व करने के लिए 'दंड प्रक्रिया संहिता' की धारा 117 के तहत डेढ़ वर्ष के कारावास की सजा सुनाई। तथापि, अवध बार एसोसिएशन के अध्यक्ष जॉर्ज जैक्सन, जो कि ब्रिटिश मूल के थे, ने इस मामले में व्यक्तिगत रुचि लेते हुए एसोसिएशन की ओर से प्रस्तुत आवेदन के पक्ष में जिरह की। इसके परिणामस्वरूप, चन्द्रभानु गुप्त की सजा को घटाकर छह महीने कर दिया गया। कुछ समय तक लखनऊ जेल में बंद रखे जाने के बाद, उन्हें गाजीपुर जेल में स्थानांतरित कर दिया गया। अंत में, वे यहीं से रिहा हुए।

चन्द्रभानु गुप्त, वर्ष 1937, 1946, 1952, 1961, 1962, 1967 और 1969 में उत्तर प्रदेश विधान सभा के सदस्य निर्वाचित हुए। वे 1960 से 1961 तक उत्तर प्रदेश विधान परिषद के सदस्य भी रहे। इसके अतिरिक्त, चन्द्रभानु गुप्त ने 1947 से 1959 के बीच उत्तर प्रदेश सरकार के मंत्रिमंडल में विभिन्न मंत्री पदों पर भी कार्य किया। 7 दिसंबर 1960 को वे पहली बार उत्तर प्रदेश के मुख्यमंत्री बने और 1970 तक चार बार इस पद पर आसीन हुए। 11 मार्च 1980 को उनका निधन हो गया।

भारतीय स्वतंत्रता संग्राम में महत्वपूर्ण भूमिका निभाने वाले चन्द्रभानु गुप्त दृढ़ चरित्र के धनी व अत्यंत निष्ठावान थे। कुशल प्रशासक और दूरदर्शी राजनेता भी थे, जिन्होंने सदैव भौतिक संपदा की तुलना में नवीन विचारों और प्रौद्योगिकी को अधिक महत्व दिया।

अपना समस्त जीवन देश, राज्य और समाज की सेवा में समर्पित कर देने वाले महान व्यक्तित्व चन्द्रभानु गुप्त पर स्मारक डाक—टिकट जारी करते हुए डाक विभाग, गर्व का अनुभव करता है। यह डाक—टिकट एक देशभक्त, विशिष्ट राजनीतिज्ञ और सच्चे समाज सेवी के प्रति श्रद्धांजलि स्वरूप है। चन्द्रभानु गुप्त ने न केवल स्वतंत्रता संग्राम में सक्रिय रूप से भाग लिया बल्कि स्वतंत्रता पश्चात उत्तर प्रदेश के मुख्यमंत्री के रूप में राज्य को दूरदर्शी नेतृत्व भी प्रदान किया। उनका संपूर्ण जीवन जन कल्याण, सत्यनिष्ठा और प्रगतिशील आदर्शों के प्रति समर्पित रहा।

### आभार :

डाक टिकट/प्रथम दिवस आवरण/	:	सुश्री प्रिया	पाण्डेय	
विवरणिका / विरूपण कैशे		-		
पाठ	:	प्रस्तावक	द्वारा	प्रस्तुत
		सामग्री से	संदर्भित	

# तकनीकी आंकड़े TECHNICAL DATA

मूल्यवर्ग	: 500 पैसे
Denomination	: 500p
मुद्रितडाक–टिकटें	: 302852
Stamps Printed	: 302852
मुद्रण प्रक्रिया	ः वेट ऑफसेट
Printing Process	: Wet Offset
मुद्रक	ः प्रतिभूति मुद्रणालय, हैदराबाद
Printer	: Security Printing Press, Hyderabad

The philatelic items are available for sale at Philately Bureaus across India and online at http://www.epostoffice.gov.in/PHILATELY 3D.html

© डाक विभाग, भारत सरकार। डाक टिकट, प्रथम दिवस आवरण तथा सूचना विवरणिका के संबंध में सर्वाधिकार विभाग के पास है।

© Department of Posts, Government of India. All rights with respect to the Stamp, First Day Cover and Information Brochure rest with the Department.

मूल्य ₹ 15.00